Important Notice on Visa Restrictions for Strengthening Border Security Measures to prevent the spread of Novel Coronavirus

On 1 April 2020, the Government of Japan decided to further strengthen the border security measures against the spread of Novel Coronavirus infections by introducing additional measures as follows;

1. The validity of single entry visa and multiple entry visa, including diplomatic and official entry visa of Japan, which have been issued by Embassies, Consulates-General and Consulates of Japan in countries and regions other than Albania, Armenia, Israel, Indonesia, United Kingdom, Ecuador, Egypt, Australia, Canada, Republic of Korea, North Macedonia, Cyprus, Greece, Croatia, Kosovo, Democratic Republic of Congo, Cote d'Ivoire, Singapore, Slovakia, Serbia, Thailand, Taiwan, Czech, China (including Hong Kong and Macau), Chile, Dominica, Turkey, New Zealand, Panama, Hungary, Bahrain, Philippines, Finland, Brazil, Bulgaria, Brunei, United States, Vietnam, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bolivia, Poland, Malaysia, Moldova, Morocco, Montenegro, Mauritius, Latvia, Lithuania and Romania on or before April 2, 2020, will be temporarily suspended.

note: temporary suspension of visa for UAE includes seal of "visa wavier registration certificate"

- 2. <u>The application of visa exemption arrangements</u> for relevant countries and regions <u>except</u> those stated in 1 <u>will also be temporarily suspended</u>.
- Validity of Pre-Clearance granted to APEC Business Travel Card (ABTC) issued by any relevant country or region <u>other than</u> those stated in 1 <u>will be temporarily suspended</u>.*

- *Already-implemented visa restrictions, which have been notified on March 19 and 26 respectively, will remain in place until the last day of April.
- 4. The foregoing measures of 1 and 2 will enter into force at 0:00am (JST) on April 3, 2020 until the end of April, 2020. The period can be renewed.
- 5. For the time being, the permission to land in Japan to the foreigners who have stayed in any of the 49 countries and regions stated in 1* will be denied, unless the circumstances are exceptional.**
 - * As a consequence of the designation above, a total of 73 countries are subject to the entry ban in total.
 - ** Foreigners with the status of residence of "Permanent Resident", "Spouse or Child of Japanese National", "Spouse or Child of Permanent Resident" or "Long Term Resident", who have departed Japan with Re-entry Permission by April 2, are treated, in principle as persons in special circumstances. This, however, is not applicable to foreigners who depart Japan on or after April 3. The "Special Permanent Resident" is not in the scope of the entry ban.
- 6. The foregoing measure of 5 will be implemented from 0:00am (JST) on April 3, 2020, and remain in place for a period. The measures will also be applied to those who will depart before the launch of these measures and arrive in Japan after their introduction.